News and updates

Just a quick post to let you all know about some recent goings-on in my research over the last couple of months.

  • Former MSc student and current PhD student Oliver (Ollie) Stevenson was profiled on our department’s homepage. Ollie is continuing his work on cricket, but we have much more data (from NZ cricket!) and many more questions than we did for his MSc.
  • My paper Computing Entropies with Nested Sampling was published in Entropy and featured as the cover story. Ignore the mistake in Equation 14… 😉
  • Speaking of Nested Sampling, my honours student Syarafana Abdul Rahman is rigorously testing what happens to Nested Sampling runs under imperfect MCMC moves. I might post any interesting conclusions later…
  • We’re almost halfway through Semester 2 here at Auckland, and I’ve been teaching my intro Bayesian course. Inspired by some others who do it really well, I’m posting my lecture recordings online.
  • Earlier this year I developed a custom-built DNest4 model for X-ray diffraction data for geophysicist Michael Rowe, and we’re currently writing that up. By the way, I’m open to this kind of collaboration in general – if you have an inference problem you want me to take a look at, feel free to get in touch and I’ll see if it’s something I can help with. I’m happy to work for co-authorship (for academic collaborators) or payment (for commercial ones).

Have a great day!

About Brendon J. Brewer

I am a senior lecturer in the Department of Statistics at The University of Auckland. Any opinions expressed here are mine and are not endorsed by my employer.
This entry was posted in Computing, Inference, Information, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

