Sabbatical

Somehow, it’s been almost three years since we moved to Auckland. At this point, you become eligible for the privilege of one semester of research and study leave, colloquially known as sabbatical. Mine is coming up in the second half of this year. Here is my itinerary, which I’m publishing in the hope that I might get to see some of you that I hadn’t explicitly made plans to see. So, here are my destinations and their main purposes apart from emitting unconscionable amounts of carbon dioxide.

August 1 – August 28: Travelling through Europe on vacation (by train!). No work stops. Cities: Copenhagen, Wien, Lyon, Barcelona, San Sebastian, London.

August 28 – September 26th: Cambridge, UK. Here I’ll be working with a materials science group on statistical mechanics applications of Nested Sampling, as well as spending time in the IoA with the gravitational lensers.

September 26th – October 2nd: in New York City for Astro Hack Week.

October 3rd – October 23rd: I’ll be in Oxford to visit Ewan Cameron and work on some crazy new Monte Carlo algorithms. I’ll also visit the astronomy department to chat astrostatistics with some of the good folks there.

About Brendon J. Brewer

I am a senior lecturer in the Department of Statistics at The University of Auckland. Any opinions expressed here are mine and are not endorsed by my employer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sabbatical

  1. jamesmcurran says:

    Mine finishes on July 1. I leave on June 25 to got Augsburg, Germany followed by 3 weeks in Aalborg, Denmark. Then back home til August 20ish, back to Krakow then Prague, home for a week and back to Providence, RI and hopefully Maine afterwards. This is on top of Australia, Miami and England already this year. The people who think I’m on holiday need their heads read. I wouldn’t wish this on an enemy. 🙂

  2. omaclaren says:

    Any interest in talking to some mathematical biologists while at Oxford (including an expat kiwi)? A few of us have been getting more into inference and I’ve found the astrostats literature/tools very helpful. I’ve used emcee a bit, for example. Also keen to learn more about how nested sampling has been used in astrophysics applications.

Leave a Reply

